PDA

View Full Version : OT: Computer Monitor Question...

oldguy00
11-30-2018, 07:03 AM
Hey all, I work in IT, and our organization is likely going to start letting us work from home if we desire.
My work computer is a laptop, and at my desk I just have it on a dock connected to two 21.5 inch monitors (cheap, washed out crap).

If I start working from home I plan to buy new monitor(s) for myself, either one larger one like 27", or 2 x 23-34".

I'm not up to speed on what is the best in terms of refresh rate, etc. I see 60, 120, etc. If I am not using it for gaming, is there any need to get a refresh rate higher than 60? Will a higher refresh rate be easier on the eyes for long periods of staring at the screen?

Thanks!!

tigoat
11-30-2018, 07:51 AM
I do CAD (3D modeling) work at home with my Dell 30" 2560 x 1600 60 Hz monitor all the time just fine. My 30" is a little too big so I will definitely step it down some when I shop for a new monitor. If cost is not an issue then why not to get a higher refresh rate so it can be good for both worlds. Keep an eye on some of those high resolution monitors (4K, etc), as the text display might be small, so I believe that bigger is definitely better in this case. Also, might want to compare between IPS screen vs. alternatives. IPS monitors is much better for side viewing. I like some of those latest 27" 1440 p monitors as they are at a sweet spot for not being overly larger while the text display is decent.

MattTuck
11-30-2018, 08:00 AM
I personally think that multiple monitors is better for productivity in most circumstances. CAD (as mentioned above), graphics, video editing, etc. may be exceptions.

If it was a purely home computer (with some working from home), I'd go for the bigger single monitor with the expectation you'll watch movies on it, and save space. If you'll be doing all or most of your work from that location, I think 2 monitors is the way to go.

kppolich
11-30-2018, 08:05 AM