PDA

View Full Version : pedal suggestions

Fina1
11-15-2006, 01:16 PM
I've been using Speedplay pedals for several years now having switched over from Looks after undergoing knee surgery. I was told that the float of the Speedplays might be easier on the knee and that has been the case. However, I wonder if the larger platform afforded by most other pedals is a more efficient way to go. Any thoughts about the range of pedals available out there? The Speedplays are comfortable, but I wonder how they stack up for power transfer versus othe rmodels. Obviously, winter is coming and it's time to tinker.

terrytnt
11-15-2006, 01:45 PM
I personally have had great experience with the DA PD-7800 pedals, comfortable, no injuries or leg problems. Furthermore, word is in Jan 07, Shimano releases an upgraded version of the 7800.

Lanternrouge
11-15-2006, 02:20 PM
I think the actual platform for pressure distribution on your shoe is actually larger for Speedplays than other pedals. With regard to power transfer, I've heard John Howard say that you lose a fair amount of power with the free float, but he really likes the Zeros set up without float.

If you're going to tinker, you might as well start with Zeros since at least you know where the cleat will go on your shoe. If you do that, I recommend taking digital photos of the bottoms of your shoes before removing the old cleats.

petitelilpettit
11-15-2006, 02:20 PM
The major improvement is a larger platform for the cleat interface. I saw it on Tony Cruz's bike when he was at our swap meet on Sunday. I'm not entirely sure about power transfer, but from what I understand, the shoe has a greater effect on power transfer than the pedal. But what do I know? I'm just a 19 year old college student.

What shoes are you running?

Pettit

ajhoop
11-15-2006, 02:40 PM