PDA

View Full Version : DT 240s hub service

CNY rider
11-12-2006, 07:10 PM
So I'm making my winter to do list, and I think I probably have to include my wheels on the list for maintenance.
I've got 2 sets of wheels built on DT 240s hubs. One set a little over a year old, one just about a year. The hubs have no play and roll smoothly. I'd like to keep it that way.
I don't have a LBS option so I am a self taught mechanic. Hubs and wheels are the final frontier for me. I don't mind buying the tools, because it's the only way this stuff is going to get done. I understand (or at least I think I do) that I need the roughly $120 DT Swiss tool kit to work on the hubs. I also see a smaller maintenance kit listed on DT's website. It appears to have small spare parts in it for maintenance operations. Will that be all the parts I need? Will the appropriate instructions be enough to do the job or are there special tricks I need to know? If this is really difficult I may need to ship them to someone.
Thanks!

ergott
11-12-2006, 09:22 PM
So I'm making my winter to do list, and I think I probably have to include my wheels on the list for maintenance.
I've got 2 sets of wheels built on DT 240s hubs. One set a little over a year old, one just about a year. The hubs have no play and roll smoothly. I'd like to keep it that way.
I don't have a LBS option so I am a self taught mechanic. Hubs and wheels are the final frontier for me. I don't mind buying the tools, because it's the only way this stuff is going to get done. I understand (or at least I think I do) that I need the roughly $120 DT Swiss tool kit to work on the hubs. I also see a smaller maintenance kit listed on DT's website. It appears to have small spare parts in it for maintenance operations. Will that be all the parts I need? Will the appropriate instructions be enough to do the job or are there special tricks I need to know? If this is really difficult I may need to ship them to someone.
Thanks!