PDA

View Full Version : Fizik R1 or Ritchey C220 stem??

Jmaxwel8
10-08-2018, 05:37 PM
So I would like to change out my stem on a serotta TI I’m finishing up. I like the looks of both these stems. Just wanted to see if there was a concensus about if one stem is preferred. No one in my area sells them so I’m just judging based off of pictures on the internet.

joosttx
10-08-2018, 05:47 PM
So I would like to change out my stem on a serotta TI I’m finishing up. I like the looks of both these stems. Just wanted to see if there was a concensus about if one stem is preferred. No one in my area sells them so I’m just judging based off of pictures on the internet.

I really like the R1. Quality torx bolts and it feels good. I have no experience with ritchey

R3awak3n
10-08-2018, 05:56 PM
Not a fan of the c220, bulky and kind of ugly. Much prefer the older 4axis which can easily still be found... or the c260 which is awesome but kind of annoying to set up

RobJ
10-08-2018, 06:05 PM

I’ve used the Ritchey and don’t personally care for the C versions. The clamp portion of the stem wraps around the bar so the only way to mount/unmount the bars is to slide them them through the clamp/stem. So once they’re mounted, shifters on and taped you can’t remove the bars unless you undo all that work.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Exonerv
10-08-2018, 06:42 PM
Agree with RobJ...sold my Ritchey c for the reasons he mentioned. Have Fizik stems on my top 4 road bikes...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

cgolvin
10-08-2018, 06:42 PM
I’ve used the Ritchey and don’t personally care for the C versions. The clamp portion of the stem wraps around the bar so the only way to mount/unmount the bars is to slide them them through the clamp/stem. So once they’re mounted, shifters on and taped you can’t remove the bars unless you undo all that work.