PDA

View Full Version : swapping bar end shifters for paddles

danesgod
10-05-2018, 11:41 AM
Hey all, thinking about switching my bar end shifters on my Jamis Aurora Elite (2012) for paddle shifters. I understand why bar ends would be better for long tours, but I really use this bike for commuting, pulling my baby trailer, and rainy days, all times where I wish I could keep my hands on the brakes.

I'm relatively new to working on shifters / drivetrains (rode BMX forever, only road and MTB for ~3-4 years, I did rebuild one drivetrain on my first MTB), so I actually don't know which parts I must swap out and which I can reuse. The drivetrain is still stock parts:

Shimano 105 front & rear derailleurs
Shimano Dura-Ace bar-end shifters
Shimano R563 2-pc crankset
50/39/30 with Shimano extrernal BB
Shimano 12-30 cassette

In my head I only need new paddle shifters (and cables probably), but I have limited experience. Can anyone point to the right shifters I need, I think its these (http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/us/en/shimano-105-5703-triple-sti-shifter-set/rp-prod50465?gs=1&sku=sku179261&pgrid=54137515364&ptaid=pla-422159868173&utm_source=google&utm_term=&utm_campaign=PLA+All+Products&utm_medium=base&utm_content=mkwid|solPPtctf_dc|pcrid|253659801802| pkw||pmt||prd|179261US) ::looks around confused::?

jtakeda
10-05-2018, 11:49 AM
Yes that’s correct. You’ll probably need new shift cables and possibly housing.

The word “paddle shifters” is a little confusing FYI. Most people call them sti shifters or shift levers.

pdonk
10-05-2018, 11:51 AM
Those shifters are for a triple, you'll likely just need a double, depending on number of chainrings.

I'd consider some the used higher end parts in the classifieds.

jtakeda
10-05-2018, 11:52 AM
Those shifters are for a triple, you'll likely just need a double, depending on number of chainrings.

50/39/30 refers to chainrings though right? I think he has the right shifters here

shortwaveradio
10-05-2018, 11:54 AM