PDA

View Full Version : Dario, redux

Brendan Quirk
11-03-2006, 11:50 AM
Hi folks. I admit I'm a lurker here on the Serotta board because I'm a student of the fascinating intersection between bicycles and life, and serotta.com is where the most illuminated dialogue on this topic occurs. Not just dialogue on the web, but dialogue anywhere. I know some of you personally and I wish I knew more because I feel a deep kinship to the spirit of this place. So, by way of introduction: My name is Brendan. I ride a Big Leg Emma. I own Competitive Cyclist. I write most of the road copy you'll see on our website.

I'd like to say I have an answer to the varied postings written about my Responsorium comments, but I don't. I'd say what I wrote on our site is an extension of two things:

(1) My concern for Dario. His depressed vibe at Vegas was a topic of discussion for many people once they walked out of the Gita booth. His disposition was oppressive. This is not a debatable point. It worried a lot of people who care about him, me included.

(2) My personal professional dissatisfaction about our marketing of bicycles and related products. By "our" I'm speaking in a very broad sense -- both the vast bike industry, and Competitive Cyclist itself.

I'm not breaking new ground in this community when I state a powerful belief of mine: As an industry we could likely eliminate 90% of the "high-end" offerings in the marketplace, and the high-end cyclist would be no worse off for it. Ours is an industry oversaturated with self-same brands, and these brands churn out an endless supply of me-too products.