PDA

View Full Version : Thomson kfc cross bar...anyone using

Kingfisher
08-28-2018, 06:46 AM
Saw one of these bars in local shop on a moots
The top portion from stem to brake hoods seemed significantly thicker than any conventional bar. Just wondering if this size increase is comfortable?

ptourkin
08-28-2018, 08:49 AM
I bought one on here for my Moots after looking for years. I don't find that section uncomfortable although I don't do a lot of extended climbs on my CX bike.

GOTHBROOKS
08-28-2018, 10:53 AM
ive been using a pair for maybe 3 years? never noticed that part being “thicker” than any other bars. i like them.

teleguy57
08-28-2018, 11:11 AM
Rode them and really liked them. I'm a fan of thicker bars; these are 31.8 all the way to the curves. Also, the curve at the top has a nice platform for your hands.

I sold my 42s here as I was convinced I would like a narrow bar. Ended up buying a set of 40cm Thomson Road bars (same reach, more drop, flatter tops) and while I like the shape a lot I ended up going back to 42s (Deda Superleggarss, which also are 31.8 all the way out the tops) and feel more comfortable on 42s vs 40s. Just in case someone in interested, they are listed in the classifieds. (https://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=224954&highlight=thomson)

But yes, I really like the KFCs. The Dedas are a hair shorter (75 reach vs 78.5) and slightly shorter drop (130 vs 134 on the KFCs) but I got a very good deal on them so I bought them rather than another set of KFCs. Would have been smarter to keep my KFC 42s a bit longer after getting the Road 40s, but I got overeager....

One last note: Drop on the KFCs varies by width. Thomson has the same bar on their web site listed at their cross bar since their sponsorship with Katie ended a few years back.

Gummee
08-28-2018, 11:17 AM
Saw one of these bars in local shop on a moots