PDA

View Full Version : Concussions and cycling

cnighbor1
07-31-2018, 03:30 PM
From a doctor in my GPC Club on Concussions and cycling

To: GPC WED Ride List

Sent: ‎Sunday‎, ‎July‎ ‎29‎, ‎2018‎ ‎03‎:‎25‎:‎54‎ ‎PM

Subject: Concussion and cycling

It's been a long time since I rode with folks of the Wednesday ride group, or posted to this list. I rather regret this. In any case, I do follow posts of those fortunate enough and wise enough to still be riding.
Hearing of of Krehe's accident reminded me of past experiences when active people have sustained concussions riding bicycles, and while hiking. As a former avid cyclist and hiker, backpacker, and mountaineer, and as a physician, I've a few thoughts I'd like to add.

(1) Recognizing a concussion:
Tho Krehe apparently went flying off the edge of an improperly banked turn on Lucas Valley road in what looked on the face of it to be a significant cycling accident, it's possible to sustain a concussion in the aftermath of what appears to be a trivial and harmless accident. On one night ride years ago a friend riding with us fell over while near stationary, or at less than 4 mph. She immediately picked herself up, and said she felt fine. I was ready to join others in our group in judging she was just fine, when someone in our group noticed her helmet had a crack in it.
Only on hearing of and then seeing the (minor, but definite) crack in her helmet was I motivated to specifically check her for signs of a concussion.. Specifically, I questioned her in a way that would reveal whether or not she was having trouble turning short term memory into long term memory (over a period of about 3 minutes).
This revealed she was entirely unable to remember anything that transpired around her 3 minutes after it happenned. Revealing she had sustained a significant concussion.