PDA

View Full Version : Stages Powermeter

eolson124
07-22-2018, 04:35 PM
I'm in the process of a new road build using Ultegra R8000. I plan to use a compact crank (50/34) and a wide-range cassette (11-30). I'm considering using a Stages Ultegra Powermeter crankset. Is this Powermeter worth the additional $775? I have no direct experience with powermeters; but, I enjoy other metrics provided by my Wahoo Element Bolt. I welcome your comments. EWO

dem
07-22-2018, 05:16 PM
I have had 2 Stages, they've struggled a bit with their battery doors, but are now onto Gen3, so I expect that is solved by now. When I had a Gen1 fail out of warranty, they upgraded the model to the Gen2 for free.. so no complaints.

They have all the limitations of all single-sided power meters, so there's that.

The 'best deal' Powermeter to me is a Powertap hub - $399 (or less) bulletproof, measures "all" the power, plus you need a wheelset anyways, right?

Also have a Garmin Vector2 (dual) set of pedals.. would not recommend due t the finicky nature and typical garmin bugginess, but maybe the Vector3 has addressed that (still expensive for dual sided though)

nooneline
07-22-2018, 07:03 PM
I think the real question with power meters is less about whether to have one or not to have one, but more: if you have one, are you willing to learn what the numbers mean, or do you need to buy a license for a system that does a really good job of analyzing and explaining your data to you?

If you can answer those questions it'll be a lot easier to answer the first one.

.RJ
07-22-2018, 07:34 PM
For $775, no not worth it. I'd rather buy a Quarq at that money.

Adam
07-22-2018, 08:32 PM
Stages Ultegra left arm only is $579

Pinned
07-22-2018, 08:38 PM
It's only worth owning if you're going to use it.

I have a Stages, it works well and was easily the best option for me cost wise.

RobJ
07-22-2018, 08:43 PM