PDA

View Full Version : Mavic Open Pros: Step up?

hotspur.serotta
06-27-2018, 11:09 PM
My road bike has Shimano WH-R500 wheels in good shape.

I have a line on Mavic Open Pros with ~1000 miles on them (see below) for $200. Would that be a significant upgrade? If not, I'm open to suggestions, but don't want to spend thousands.

"These wheels are hand-built by a custom wheel builder for long lasting performance. Shimano Ultegra 6800 hubs, laced to Mavic Open Pro Black rims, with 15 gauge DT Swiss spokes and brass nipples. Velox rim tape and skewers are included. Complete wheelset weight (with Velox and Skewers) is 1940 grams."

Ken Robb
06-27-2018, 11:12 PM
Really good wheels but what aspect of wheels are you trying to upgrade?

hotspur.serotta
06-27-2018, 11:57 PM
Not sure. I'm new to this game and have a lust for better equipment!

joosttx
06-28-2018, 12:06 AM
Yes they are a step up assuming wear and tear are equal. I think what you are getting is a more durable and stronger wheel.

oliver1850
06-28-2018, 12:26 AM
I would say they are better quality wheels even though they probably weigh a bit more than the R500s. Should be more durable over the long haul. That said, I'd ride what you have and upgrade if/when you have a problem.

oldpotatoe
06-28-2018, 07:25 AM

I have a line on Mavic Open Pros with ~1000 miles on them (see below) for $200. Would that be a significant upgrade? If not, I'm open to suggestions, but don't want to spend thousands.

"These wheels are hand-built by a custom wheel builder for long lasting performance. Shimano Ultegra 6800 hubs, laced to Mavic Open Pro Black rims, with 15 gauge DT Swiss spokes and brass nipples. Velox rim tape and skewers are included. Complete wheelset weight (with Velox and Skewers) is 1940 grams."