PDA

View Full Version : Need aesthetic input

NHAero
06-21-2018, 08:20 PM
OK, I'm an engineer, no one lets me make any choices when it comes to aesthetics. I've got my Anderson pretty much set up as I want it for all day comfort. I have some old body issues that puts the bars and saddle about level. (My CAAD10 is set up with 3 cm of drop but it's not as comfortable).

So, two photos attached. I don't like the way the stem sets in either. The level stem uses a lot of spacers to get the bars up. Flip the stem (it's +/- 17 degrees) and the rise of the stem puts the bars up a tad higher without any spacer below the stem.

My inclination is to get a 0 degree rise stem and run it with a spacer or two.

What say the mavens? Yes, the saddle and pedals are different, I'm still fooling with that stuff...

jtakeda
06-21-2018, 08:22 PM
Id like to see the 1st pic with the saddle from #2.

I think it would look better that way.

hokoman
06-21-2018, 08:22 PM
I would find a stem with a slight rise to match the top tube angle. I don't like the look of a stem that has a ton of spacers under, just to angle down.

Toddtwenty2
06-21-2018, 08:27 PM
I vote a zero degree stem to match the top tube angle and cut down on spacers, but I am usually a compromise kind of guy.

rwsaunders
06-21-2018, 08:28 PM
One of these (tall stack stem) might work for you but I agree that a stem angle to match your top tube angle might look good.

https://velo-orange.com/products/vo-tall-stack-threadless-stem-31-8-rise

lhuerta
06-21-2018, 08:38 PM
Do the math with this tool....

http://yojimg.net/bike/web_tools/stem.php

Louis
06-21-2018, 08:47 PM
I agree with what's been said above - a stem that matches the line of the tt is ideal, or if that still gives you too many spacers, a few degrees more than the tt. Don't get too worked up about it - despite what Billy Crystal says, having it feel right is way more important than having it look right.