PDA

View Full Version : My New saddle: Berk Dila

metalheart
06-03-2018, 04:16 PM
I have been riding a Rivet Independence leather saddle for several years and with a new bike incoming it seemed time to investigate a saddle for the upcoming build. Browsing the vendor forum here led me to an announcement from Elite Velo Solutions about a newer model Berk saddle, the Dila. With my wife’s encouragement, I ordered a padded Dila with oval rails to accommodate my 190ish pounds. The saddle arrived about 10 days and 15 hours of saddle time ago.

The first things I noticed are weight and aesthetics. This saddle is seriously light, almost a pound less than my leather Rivet saddle, and has proportions akin to the power-saddle style: shorter nose and wider platform. I was initially skeptical about the minimal padding and its implications for sit-bone comfort while riding local chip-seal pothole-filled roads After a test ride to make some fore-aft adjustments, the saddle has proved to be more comfortable than I anticipated. There is room to move around, but usually I find a spot and settle-in. Whether climbing, just cruising, or pushing on a group ride, the saddle has been extraordinarily comfortable.

I do use well-padded bib shorts (Rapha Classics), but on one ride I used an older pair of Assos S2s (the one with the orange pad) that has a thinner pad, but my sit-bones were still happy. I spend more time on the hoods than in the drops, but when I do move to the drops, the saddle works well for me: no loss of comfort, rubbing, or chaffing. It just works for the kind of riding I do and I’m happy. Plus, it is a conversation piece!

AZR3
06-03-2018, 05:03 PM
I’ve hand my eye on that exact saddle and have been waiting to hear from someone about how they like it. I’ve always heard how the flex that Berk saddles have is what sets them apart from others and makes them more comfortable. Is the flex noticeable while riding?

Ozz
06-03-2018, 05:30 PM