PDA

View Full Version : What saddle/bars for big guy?

bob1992
10-21-2006, 01:15 PM
Hi everybody, I haven't used the forum for a long time, and I'm hoping I can get some good advice. I was hit by a car from behind 5 days ago and my Legend is crunched. Looks like the driver is going to replace it, so I'm going to my local dealer this weekend to discuss details and possibly some equipment changes. My question is this: can anyone recommend from experience a comfortable saddle for a large rider? I'm 6-4, 240 lbs, and I've been playing with saddles for 4 years and still not found one that fits well. I also want to get the widest/largest diameter bars I can, my existing bike has Richey 46 cm, does anyone know of anything as wide (or wider) in an "OS" or larger diameter size?

Thanks.

dave thompson
10-21-2006, 01:48 PM
For saddes: Brooks.

mike p
10-21-2006, 02:49 PM
I'm a large fata$$ and have flites on all my bikes. I have tried others but love flites.

Mike

quehill
10-21-2006, 02:59 PM
Another big guy here. For saddles, I like the Selle San Marco Regal and the Terry Fly. The Regal is probably 50x cooler, but just a little less comfortable for me... and comfort usually wins out as far as saddles are concerned.

If you're loooking for an OS handlebar, I'd check out the carbon Bontrager Race X-Lite. It comes in a 46 (which I think, but am not sure, is a c to c number for Bontrager), has an extremely large flat ramp, and absorbs road vibration nicely.

Cheers

Firenze
10-21-2006, 04:31 PM
Six foot 260 (working on that, down from 285). Aliante sport = pain for me. Terri was ok but a bit wide for my thighs. Brooks Swallow from Wallbike (they have a 6 month return poicy) is just right. Just got back from 20 miles with only mild discomfort. It gets better with each ride. Best of luck.

djg21
10-21-2006, 04:32 PM