PDA

View Full Version : Winter clothing-Pacific Northwest help needed

wasfast
10-19-2006, 08:46 AM
I know there are plenty of PNW folks on the forum. I've been riding year round for the last 3 years. I've tried many different things and still seem to freeze in several areas, if not just overall. I'm riding for fitness/training, not commuting.

The problem is the winter when it's high 30's to low 40's, raining pretty good (1/4"-1/2" rain per day), and usually 10mph wind out of the south. I can handle cold, wet if it's warmer, but not cold and wet.

I have a rain bike with full fenders and extensions, just for the record.

Toes: I truly don't think there's anything to keep your feet warm. I would usually wear thin polypro socks, Smart wool socks, shoe, Neoprene booties. My feet are cold in 30 minutes on a 2-3 hour ride. I'm desparate enough to buy some battery powered heated inserts like those used for ski boots.

Water from the front of the tights seems to fill up my shoes no matter what which I think contributes to the cold. People complain about their feet sweating in sealed bags. I'd love to have sweaty feet but never have.

Legs: The Pearl Izumi AmFib tights are bulky and ill fitting but they do keep me warm as well as the Johnson warm which is nice. This is fine.

Torso: If I put on enough layers, then I sweat underneath and freeze. Not enough layers and I freeze from the start. The usual would be polypro base layer, expedition fleece top, and a Santini heavy weight jacket (windproof and thick). I also have a Pearl Izumi shell that I have used on the outside.

I keep hearing that using rain gear like Burley is too bulky, flappy in the wind and you sweat profusly underneath. No one I ride with seems to use them but I'm wondering.......