PDA

View Full Version : Campy Record Carbon UT Cranks

pdbrye
10-18-2006, 05:36 PM
Has anyone tried the new Campy Record Ultra Torque Cranks? I am curious about rider feedback and how they compare to the previous Record Carbon Cranks. I currently have the Record Carbon CT Cranks which seem perfectly great to me but I need a longer crank arm and so I'm considering the new generation.

Thanks.

mcteague
10-18-2006, 05:49 PM
I have the new Chorus CT cranks which are pretty much the same as Record except not hollow in the middle. I have no experience with the previous carbon versions but just came off an FSA Carbon Elite Pro and have had Super Record and old Chorus long ago. The FSA never really impressed me with it's overall quality. The new UT cranks are really nice. The are well designed, well built and go together like a charm. Plus, they seem nearly as smooth as the old Super Record crank and BB and that is saying something. The shifting is much cleaner than the FSA. If you already have to old Campy carbon cranks I would not dump them for the new ones but if you are really in the market for a new set then go for it.

Tim McTeague

Simon Q
10-18-2006, 06:06 PM
I have them and my first impressions are that they are excellent. I have tried them out for flex with out of the saddle efforts uphill and the feel stiffer but that could of course just be in my head - the previous cranks, despite what Shimano heads would tell you, were just fine on that front. The big thing in my view is that, unlike other external systems, they still spin very well. No need for crazy priced ceramics to overcome design flaws with this system. And, on top of all that, they look outrageously sexy on the bike! I have full 07 Record and there is absolutely no question that Campy have absolutely nailed it with their revamp - all the upgrades are awesome. There is some very, very clever technology throughout.

Grant McLean
10-18-2006, 06:15 PM