PDA

View Full Version : CAAD 10 vs C50

booglebug
03-29-2018, 10:45 PM
Performance wise with same components and wheels which would you choose for a 10000 ft century ride. I understand the carbon may be more comfortable but climbing 15% for a length of time, which bike would be a better performer. Have only ridden Ti and steel on these rides I’m a noob with these frame materials and am lost with all I read on these two frames. Would like to hear from those who have actually ridden these two frames.

BobbyJones
03-29-2018, 11:28 PM
I think it really all comes down to if you plan on riding with one water bottle or two. Well, that and if you're running valve caps on your tubes.

mistermo
03-30-2018, 05:20 AM
I own both. I'd be hard pressed to choose. I wouldn't transfer componentry around because one was better. Maybe pick the one with the taller stack?

GregL
03-30-2018, 05:52 AM
Frame material is immaterial. A ride with 10K ft. of climbing likely has 10K ft. of descending (assuming same start and finish location). Which bike do you feel more comfortable descending on? That factor would definitely play into my choice.

Greg

R3awak3n
03-30-2018, 06:10 AM
Having never had either, I do now have a carbon bike and did have a alum bike (spooky), I would pick the caad over the c50.

However for that money I would pick a used parlee. My z5 is amazing and I got it mint for about what a used c50 goes for. I am not hating on the c50 I am sure its a nice bike but too much $$$ for its age, also I do not like how the diamond stays look.

Ralph
03-30-2018, 06:11 AM