PDA

View Full Version : OT - Building a website with Bluehost and WordPress

Chris
03-04-2018, 08:20 PM
I am not very computer literate. I am trying to help out my martial arts school and build them a website. I read that this was a good way to go, but I'm struggling. Any experience?

rockdude
03-05-2018, 07:41 AM
I have built four of them and Fumble through it each time. For me it takes a lot of youtube watching and 20+ hours. Youtube is your friend.

https://bouldercyclingcoach.com/

http://www.matjournal.com/

paredown
03-05-2018, 07:55 AM
Agreed--Wordpress is sort of user friendly, but hard to figure out when you try to customize. And I am not very good at web stuff--I'm just stubborn...

I found that the preset free templates would sometimes be lacking, but still the easiest way to build is to use one, so look through a lot and pick one that is as close as you can come. If you are tempted to purchase one, look for someone who has been in business for more than five minutes--it is a bit like all those flaky Apple apps--suddenly everyone is a developer.

As you go, some things are easy (more or less modular plug-ins are available for some of the things that you will need), but often limitations are set initially by the template. And there is a underlying problem that it started as a blog posting platform, so it handles text/blog posting (and ancillaries) really well...

I've used a great shareware program called Wampserver for developing Wordpress on a Windows machine--it lets you set up a working install of Apache etc on your machine and develop and test before you migrate to live servers.

Chris
03-05-2018, 08:18 AM
I have built four of them and Fumble through it each time. For me it takes a lot of youtube watching and 20+ hours. Youtube is your friend.

https://bouldercyclingcoach.com/

http://www.matjournal.com/

Which template is the boulder coach?

dbnm
03-05-2018, 08:26 AM
Have you thought about Squarespace? So much easier than WP and a lot less hassle.