PDA

View Full Version : Comparing modern carbon frames

AngryScientist
03-03-2018, 09:16 AM
I recently rented a Spec Tarmac - and didn't expect to like it as much as I did.

As i sit here waiting for my wife to finish breakfast, I find myself looking at carbon bikes again. I've been riding mainly steel, Ti and Alu for a few years now, though I do own two carbon bikes.

Now, this Tarmac fit me perfectly, and rode and handled brilliantly in the mountains. Climbed well, and descended fast competently. Anyone who has ridden with me knows that I enjoy going downhill fast and like to push the limits of traction. This bike was good for this.

I'm not even sure where i'm going with this rambling thread...

Anyway, I see that there are various levels of the Tarmac, including some S-Works models. How would one expect these to ride differently than the one i had? Is it just weight reduction? Stiffness improvement?

what about other carbon race bikes? the ones i have are now several years old, my Focus Izalco approaching 10 i think.

Assuming good fit - how can one compare the ride and handling of various race bikes without extended riding on them? how to pick a good CF bike that meets/exceeds expectations?

yes, i'm rambling. Just a stream of consciousness as i pour over internet bike options. daydreaming.

Breakfast is ready. I'll be back.

Share thoughts on how to pick a good CF bike and differences between them.

https://4.bp.blogspot.com/-F5oegEXGrQQ/WplVGPiVRjI/AAAAAAAAC-0/UPaGAa-Id6scLTPZVcE4PFH3mpBK8O0UgCLcBGAs/s1200/IMG_2128.JPG

tigoat
03-03-2018, 09:26 AM
Unfortunately, unlike getting a "custom" frame/bike, most off the shelf carbon bikes are readily available to test ride at a LBS. Life is too short not to own everything that you can afford. Unfortunately, I have a pocket of money but none of these production bikes fit me the way I like them to be so I am SOL.

Mzilliox
03-03-2018, 09:26 AM