PDA

View Full Version : Repair vs Replace?

Gummee
02-25-2018, 04:41 PM
I'm in a discussion elsewhere about mechanics 'fixing' shifters by running them thru parts washers or ultrasonic cleaners and re-lubing.

These are primarily older Shimano bikes with 7-8sp shifters that get gummy and stop working after a while.

As a mechanic, I'd much rather talk to the customer about a new pair of shifters, rather than limping along their old stuff for another year or two. There seems to be another viewpoint that says 'we're saving the customer $ by 'fixing' the shifters. When the customer comes back in a year or two THEN we replace the shifters.

As a customer, which appeals more? Fix it now and for X (10, 20, whatever) years? or limp the old stuff along?

M

AJosiahK
02-25-2018, 05:00 PM
i guess for me it would depend on the brand shifter. most are rebuildable.. but i agree that it might not always be worth the effort

auto_rock
02-25-2018, 05:01 PM
I've flushed shifters a few times, but I've watched my LBS, on more than one occasion, taking someone's gummed up Shimano 8sp shifters and flushing them quickly with lube, and they click again. Charged between $0 and $10 (usually on the low end of that)

Maybe they come back in a few years? Maybe it works for 5-10 more? But importantly, it teaches them that sometimes, when they come in to get their bike fixed, they're out "fancy coffee" money not "new stereo" money, and that's a good way to keep people from being afraid to ride their bikes.

Also honestly, just seems more humane than charging them the over the counter cost of a pair of Shimano shifters ordered via QBP...

Let them come back in a few years if they're totally messed up.

ultraman6970
02-25-2018, 05:02 PM
Looks like almost everybody does their own stuff.

mtechnica
02-25-2018, 05:03 PM