PDA

View Full Version : Resurrection Serotta Style

Too Tall
10-03-2006, 06:29 AM
Last eve. I was (eg meditating the meaning of our universe) cleaning shop and came across my Ti Legend. Recently picked clean to build the Vanilla and looking a little sad.

Thinking "hey the bike will be easier to keep safe if I just put some wheels on it" I put 'er in the stand, added a rear wheel...fork, h-bars / stem and front wheel. The bike already had a seatpost cast off. Dang, looks nice....hmmm I've got this "wrong" color saddle doing nothing that will make it easier to lean the bike against the wall...makes sense so let's get that on. (You can see where this is going?). Awwww fuggit, I'm fooling myself, let's just gather all the bits and build it!

This morning I rode the Ti Legend to work...ahhh. Nice bike :) Too nice to gather dust.

Savin' Serottas one at a time ;)

Kevan
10-03-2006, 07:47 AM
I'm new to this game of bicycle bits and pieces and my resurrection project isn't involving a Serotta (yet!). I've gotten terrific help from members here, and am having a blast putting an old bike together so I might join you blokes for next year's D2R2.

I was stupid not to think back in highschool or college to spend a summer working at a bike shop to learn the ropes.. er, chains. Well, it's time to make up for that lost education so I've enrolled myself in the DIY School of Bicycle Despair. My bicycle frame looks worried everytime I approach it.

In any case, it'll take a couple weeks before this rig is rolling and even then I suspect the project will never be complete. I can see a constant tweak-evolution beginning. I can see the frame being switched out at some point.

I've thanked my contributers for the parts they have offered, but I haven't thanked them for the fun that is ensuing. Thank you folks. Thank you for the fun.

Too Tall
10-03-2006, 08:12 AM