PDA

View Full Version : Exercise physiology question

verbs4us
01-01-2018, 11:54 AM
Yesterday in central Massachusetts I head out for a nice run in the zero-degree air. Did my usual hour or so at a comfortable pace, despite wind chill warnings. That evening, I crashed at 9 pm and felt like I had run a marathon. Through the day plenty of hydration and food, the usual recovery regimen. Anyone know the ballpark calcs the correlate effort and temperature, to explain why my modest 8-miler felt like a marathon? I don’t know how you control for clothing. Maybe assume you’re insulated enough not to feel a chill.

dogdriver
01-01-2018, 01:28 PM
I'll bet that you meant to put this in another category... but:

I'm no expert, but train in varying climates/altitudes, etc (travel a good bit with the day job). Excessive weather/climate (in your case, cold temperature) puts a tremendous strain on your body. I'll bet that you cooked through a ton of calories just staying warm, both due the outside temp on your body and warming the air you were breathing... As an aside, I live in a dry climate but feel wiped out after a relatively humble event in humid air.

Bruce K
01-01-2018, 02:06 PM
Put this in GD

You probably won’t get much help in the Classifieds

BK

thwart
01-01-2018, 02:42 PM
Yesterday in central Massachusetts I head out for a nice run in the zero-degree air. Did my usual hour or so at a comfortable pace, despite wind chill warnings. That evening, I crashed at 9 pm and felt like I had run a marathon. Through the day plenty of hydration and food, the usual recovery regimen. Anyone know the ballpark calcs the correlate effort and temperature, to explain why my modest 8-miler felt like a marathon? I don’t know how you control for clothing. Maybe assume you’re insulated enough not to feel a chill.

Methinks you've answered your own question.

SuperColnago
01-01-2018, 04:07 PM