PDA

View Full Version : ski helmet for wnter riding

PaMtbRider
12-29-2017, 05:59 PM
Anybody using a ski helmet for winter road riding? Any recommendations or suggestions on what to look for?

brendonk
12-29-2017, 07:11 PM
Wow, what a timely question. After reading through the “what did you wear on your winter ride today?” thread during my lunch break I went back out and started brainstorming for my New Year’s Day ride while riding up a chairlift. The thought of wearing my snowboard helmet never crossed my mind. I’ve been using a Giro ski/snowboard helmet for three years. I sized it the same as my bike helmets and it was spot on. There is a sizing dial on the back that snugs it up right where you want it. The padding covers the entire inside of the helmet but isn’t cumbersome at all. I think it is more for warmth. The two best features are cooling vents that can be easily opened and closed and detachable ear flaps that have soft fleece type of material to keep the ears warm and the wind out.
As you heat up you can quickly and easily adjust the helmet to increase air flow.
There are several models, mine was less than $100 and it’s been well worth it.

old fat man
12-29-2017, 09:14 PM
I've got a bright orange Lazer ski helmet that I won in a raffle that I'd be happy to sell for pennies for winter riding or skiing. Size medium.

I sometimes wear a giro 9 ski helmet myself

Bradford
12-29-2017, 10:43 PM
I've thought about it many times, especially when commuting in the 20s. I've always thought I'd go all the way and wear ski goggles also since I have more trouble with my eyes freezing than my head getting cold.

In end I've never done it because a typical Denver winter day is 25 on the way in before the sun comes up and 45 on the way home and I never wanted to do 22 miles at 45 degrees in a ski helmet and goggles. However, if I were just doing a morning ride, I'd do it in a heartbeat.