PDA

View Full Version : question about stress testing

unterhausen
11-06-2017, 04:34 PM
went into my doc today because I realized I was having asthma attacks. He is worried they are cardiac events. I'm enough of a hypochondriac that I wouldn't mind having a test, but I have heard that the normal test usually don't show much for cyclists in good condition. Any comments on that? Is there something I should tell them? Do they charge by the minute?

I usually have asthma attacks after a fairly long time, 3-4 hours usually. They also respond well to albuterol. He says I shouldn't feel weakness, but it seems to me that weakness is pretty normal. Most people would just quit exercising after an attack, cyclists generally aren't that smart.

pncguy
11-06-2017, 04:42 PM
First, I am not a doctor and I don't play one on TV.

Second, I have asthma and have had it for more than 40 years.

Third, I have skipped beats and just had my first bout of Atrial Flutter about two months ago.

It seems to me that if your breathing responds to albuterol, then it is asthma. When I have an asthma attack, I feel like I cannot get the air out of my lungs because of a constriction and/or wheezing. I've never had shortness of breath because of cardiac issues, but I would imagine that you feel like you can breathe fine, but you're just not getting enough oxygen. Also, the response to albuterol should be almost immediate.

The fact that a stress test isn't "hard" for a cyclist doesn't mean it isn't beneficial. Tell them you're in shape and they'll push you.

makoti
11-06-2017, 05:07 PM
went into my doc today because I realized I was having asthma attacks. He is worried they are cardiac events. I'm enough of a hypochondriac that I wouldn't mind having a test, but I have heard that the normal test usually don't show much for cyclists in good condition. Any comments on that? Is there something I should tell them? Do they charge by the minute?