PDA

View Full Version : can anyone educate me on dynamo hubs?

Tickdoc
11-02-2017, 12:27 PM
Are they hard to use? loud? reliable?

Thinking of having a wheel built for my commuter and adding a dynamo hub added. My fork already has clips to hold a wire on the drive side, but I have no experience with these darnfangled things. My only dynamo driven light is from 1951 and is tire driven:eek:.

With a little searching I see expensive German ones and cheap(er) shimano ones. How much better are the expensive ones?

EricEstlund
11-02-2017, 12:30 PM
The Schmidts are lower drag than the Shimano ones, but not by much (for the top end Shimanos). If you have a race bike or are doing long efforts (randos, etc) I recommend the Schmidts. If you need to save a little money or are using it for city use where you don't mind a (small) bit of drag, the Shimano ones are great.

They don't make noise, don't require maintenance (outside of normal hub maintenance) and are very, very reliable.

I try to talk anyone not getting a strictly sporting bike into one.

*Oh, and you asked if they were easy to use. Yes. You don't do anything with the hub pretty much ever. Some lights have on/ off switches. That's about is. Don't forget to disconnect the light rise (you just pull off a spade connector or connection box). If you just leave the lamp on you really don't ever need to do anything with it.

jtakeda
11-02-2017, 12:35 PM
I have 3 dynamo light set ups.

1 shimano, 1 son, 1 sp.

They all work great and I have not had any problems with any but here are my opinions.

The shimano has the most noticeable drag, it’s also the ugliest. On the other hand it’s also the easiest to get and the cheapest.