PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Masi experts

DCilliams
10-07-2017, 07:20 AM
This Masi seems to be pretty hot on ebay right now. Anyone know why? Is it a pretty rare find?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vtg-Masi-Special-Brevettata-Bike-Italy-1968-1969-Orange-Parts-Repair-Restoration-/292272184676?hash=item440cc79d64:g:WbQAAOSw~oFZzAK H

Spaghetti Legs
10-07-2017, 08:33 AM
Not an expert bit I'll answer anyway. Masi production mostly moved to USA in the mid 70's, with I believe a minority still produced in Italy. The Speciale is less common, Italy produced. A late 60's Masi is more valuable, but not that valuable in that condition I wouldn't think. Looks like a bid war between two people developed.

Peter P.
10-07-2017, 08:47 AM
I'm not a Masi expert, but that bike is complete Campy Nuovo Record and all the components are the same vintage. The bike looks completely original; you won't have to go hunting to find matching components to complete a gruppo. Collectors will pay top dollar for those parts as-is.

I'd date that bike early 70's.

The seller clearly doesn't know what he has, considering the text/description. A great find for him.

oldpotatoe
10-07-2017, 09:21 AM
Not an expert bit I'll answer anyway. Masi production mostly moved to USA in the mid 70's, with I believe a minority still produced in Italy. The Speciale is less common, Italy produced. A late 60's Masi is more valuable, but not that valuable in that condition I wouldn't think. Looks like a bid war between two people developed.

I believe Alberto(Faliero's son) is still building Masi for Europe and I think Milano, for the US...

Polyglot
10-07-2017, 09:46 AM