PDA

View Full Version : Is this tire toast?

ontarget
10-01-2017, 11:00 AM
Got home from my ride yesterday and saw something as I was hanging my bike up. See photo. Looks like the cords showing through. Is that what I'm seeing? If so, I imagine this tire is toast.

It's a shame if it is. I've only got about 1600 miles on this Rubino Pro G+. It's my first time trying these tires, having switched over from GP4000s due to sidewall failures. I otherwise like the tires, but I'm used to getting well over twice the mileage before a tire is worn out.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171001/b25c07303ffead97f59c4fcdabf9377c.jpg

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

GregL
10-01-2017, 11:19 AM
It's done.

Greg

MattTuck
10-01-2017, 11:26 AM
time for trainer duty.

1600 isn't bad, depending on the tire. Don't know about those. but I've had tires wear out in 1200-1300 miles before. I'm a bigger guy.

My current gravel kings seem to be lasting pretty good. around 2000 miles. About as good as you can reasonably expect for a tire I bought for 29 bucks.

sdrides
10-01-2017, 12:18 PM
Gonzo. 1600 seems low to me but it's really variable depending on the tire and conditions. I wouldn't ride that tire anymore, if only because of the very likely inconvenience of an unrepairable blowout.

ontarget
10-01-2017, 12:38 PM
Thanks everyone for your responses.

Ken Robb
10-01-2017, 12:38 PM
That tire is SO worn I think I would have considered it used up several hundred miles ago. When a tread pattern that deep is worn smooth there is very little rubber left between you and a flat. Do you lock up that wheel when stopping?

veggieburger
10-01-2017, 01:37 PM
Was going to ask the same thing - looks like a brake lockup and looooong skid. She's kaput, I'm afraid.

Ozrider
10-01-2017, 02:30 PM
Why do you even have to ask if it's worn out?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ken Robb
10-01-2017, 02:37 PM