PDA

View Full Version : Fine-Tuning my new Record Deraileur... procedure???

terrytnt
09-07-2006, 08:43 PM
Believe it or not, I'm new to 10 speed handlebar shifters. For many years my bike was a pro vitus frame with Mavic Pro Group and tubulars (and of course down shifters). Well, I made the plunge this year and built an Ottrott ST with Campy Record components and of course tubular wheels (Neutrons).

Here's my question, I love doing most my own mechanical adjustments and cleaning. Can anyone provide me a source or procedure for adjusting a Record Deraileur? I understand this often is a matter of feel and experience, but given there are 2 or 3 adjustment points, can someone provide a step-by-step process or link whereby I can learn to perform adjustments on a regular basis? Perhaps it's just trial-n-error but it always helps to start with a simple process and learn over time.

atmo
09-07-2006, 09:05 PM
there is really not much to adjust. before you connect the cable,
set the limit screw to be slightly outboard of the small cog. cut
the chain to the correct length. install and anchor the cable. at
this point shift the gears in a workstand. typically, a small-ish
turn of the cable adjuster on the rear der is ALL YOU NEED to
get the pulleys to land under that small cog. once you do, all
shifts up/down the cassette are a function of the guts in the
levers and there is a dedicated amount of travel with each shift
up and down the range of cogs. the only tweaks thereafter will
be based on cable stretch. when needed, you will know. at that
time, ever-so-slightly take up cable stretch with that barrel adjuster.

oh i love the night life
i love the disco a haaa
oh yeah atmo

amg
09-07-2006, 09:09 PM
1. Learn to curse in Italian :p