PDA

View Full Version : 30mm BSA Bottom Bracket Options?

exapkib
08-10-2017, 08:24 AM
I'm on the verge of buying the Praxis M30 bottom bracket to use their Zayante cranks on a new build, but I have no experience with this 'family' of bottom brackets.

My frame has a good old-fashioned English threaded bottom bracket. Is the Praxis bottom bracket the best choice for running a crank with a 30mm spindle in a threaded bottom bracket shell? Are there other options I should be considering?

Thanks in advance!

hollowgram5
08-10-2017, 08:29 AM
I've got one of the Praxis Turn cranksets. I really like it. I've had it in both my Koga MAX frame and my Holland. They are a great option for the $$$ in my opinion.

Others? Rotor, SRAM, FSA, White industries come to mind first.

jtbadge
08-10-2017, 08:34 AM
I ran an BSA FSA MegaEvo with SRAM Force 22 BB30 cranks for a long time. Totally invisible, and one of (if not the most) affordable options.

exapkib
08-10-2017, 09:37 AM
Looks like prices have changed enough that the Praxis bottom bracket is even cheaper than the FSA most places. Unless someone has some really negative experience with this bottom bracket (the Praxis M30), I think it's the one I'll buy.

Gummee
08-10-2017, 09:38 AM
Rotor makes a BB that'll fit BSA to 30mm spindles too

HTH

M

FriarQuade
08-10-2017, 09:41 AM
If you go the Praxis route, get their proprietary tool.

On that note, oversized threaded bottom brackets are the biggest disaster in tool fitments in the industry. There's no fewer than 9 different tools for essentially the same part so buyer be ware. This is what happens when one of the big guys doesn't go first I guess.

PepeM
08-10-2017, 09:42 AM
Doesn't Praxis claim that the M30 is to be used just with their cranks, and their cranks should only be used with the M30? At least that's what I remember.