PDA

View Full Version : Mtn bike for trails + a little downhill action?

fmradio516
06-29-2017, 09:28 PM
Howdy,

I have been in the market for.... some kind of mountain bike. I am still new to them so i dont know all the in's and out's but I know I want to ride regular trails as well as a litttttleeee bit of downhill. I dont do the huge jumps so it doesnt need to have a lot of rear travel.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I dont have much to go off of but I am 6'3" with a 34" inseam if that helps narrow things down. Also im guessing 29er or 27.5..

I think I have also settled on buying something new from a shop since I dont trust used shocks from craigslist.

Thanks in advance

Edit: Price range - $1000-1800

msl819
06-29-2017, 09:36 PM
Don't know what shop are local and who they carry but it sounds like you are looking for an All Mountain rig. My suggestion would be to find a shop or shops that will let you demo bikes so you can actually ride them before you buy not just choose based off a parking lot spin.

msl819
06-29-2017, 09:40 PM
FWIW... I have a yeti 575 and am also 6'3" and 34" inseam it is a 26er and does exactly what you are looking for. Given the amount of depreciation on used mtb unless you just want new I'd suggest looking used. The number of nice bikes available with low miles and low asking price is nothing to not pay attention to.

fmradio516
06-29-2017, 09:45 PM
Thanks for your input.

I guess I am more afraid to buy used because I dont know exactly what im looking for in terms of suspension. I dont wanna buy a bike with too little or too much travel.

I would be doing more trail riding than downhill, but I would like to avoid paying $130 each time i go downhilling and have to rent a bike :(

Clean39T
06-29-2017, 09:53 PM
Do you have a shop near you that does a demo day so you can try some out on local trails?

fmradio516
06-29-2017, 09:55 PM