PDA

View Full Version : Continental Tubeless Conversion

Cat3roadracer
06-06-2017, 09:41 AM
I have a new pair of 4000s II that I plan to convert to tubeless.

They are currently mounted an Pacenti rims and are as tight as could be.

Has anyone done this? Will it work?

Thanks.

sandyrs
06-06-2017, 09:50 AM
Road tubeless with a bead that isn't road tubeless approved/specific seems like an absolutely terrible idea, but I have no personal experience in this specific realm.

firemanj92
06-06-2017, 10:03 AM
I've done it with Conti 4000's (folding tires) using Stan's. I ran them for a little over a year before buying the tubeless ready tires. The hardest part is inflating them so they do seat. It works but be careful not to overinflate the tires as to blow them off the rim--loud & messy. Once they stretch they are shot and will never seat even with a tube. My main discipline is mtb-ing and I've done tire conversions several times before there were real tubeless tire options on the market.

-J

-dustin
06-06-2017, 10:06 AM
bad idea. a big part of what makes "tubeless road" tubeless road is the bead material.

hollowgram5
06-06-2017, 11:06 AM
I tried, for the sake of experimenting, to mount a non tubeless tires up tubeless to a rim. I did it, and proceeded to make it blow itself off the rim and sprayed sealant everywhere. I didn't even try riding it. That was all in the shop.

There's a new article about tubeless road on the compass cycles blog about specifically this. MTB is different for these conversions because of the lower pressure they operate in.

It's a bad idea. Some people get lucky and 'make it work' but it's still a bad idea. If you go that route, good luck.

Hombre
06-06-2017, 11:25 AM
Don't. I mounted 28c gravel kings to 6800 wheels and the tire blew off at 50 psi while on a test ride down the street. No exactly confidence inspiring...

Cat3roadracer
06-06-2017, 11:31 AM
Well there you go.

Looks like tubes are going back in.

Thanks all.

JStonebarger