PDA

View Full Version : Need a new helmet, like Lazer's, dunno anything about new models. Any users?

54ny77
05-14-2017, 09:15 PM
I've been using a Helium for the past 4-5 years, really like the fit on me (size large). Need a new one.

Went online to order and Helium is no more. Now can't really tell which are the better models, they all look pretty nice. Anyone have something new from them? Which one, and how do you like it?

I just like the fit of Helium. I can't wear anything from Giro, Bell, Specialized or Garneau. Have tried 'em all, they look positively ridiculous on my odd-shaped cabeza.

false_Aest
05-14-2017, 09:18 PM
Look into Smith.

I am 100% in love with the koroyd tech.

markoprotic
05-14-2017, 10:12 PM
I would recommend KASK Protone. Fit and finish are the best I've seen.

macaroon
05-15-2017, 03:33 AM
I like the Lazer O2; I think it'd fit anyone.

I've been using them for years though, so not sure how they compare to more "modern" helmets (if such a thing exists?)

GScot
05-15-2017, 06:30 AM
I'd say the Z1 is the replacement for the Helium. I went from Bell to LAS to Lazer and didn't think a helmet could be so comfortable. I scored a Z1 MIPS from forum sponsor Bike Tires Direct for something like $178 on a one day sale. And there is newish standard Z1 in the classifieds this morning.

About fit I was going to get a Helium as well after having tried one a couple years ago when browsing my old LBS. When I got around to it they were all gone.

old fat man
05-15-2017, 07:32 AM
Long time Genesis user here. The Helium was supposedly the upgraded version of the Genesis but I found it to feel heavy/tipsy and much less comfortable than the Genesis. Both Genesis and Helium are discontinued. The Z1 is their top shelf option - if I was you, I'd snag that Large in the classifieds if it's still available.