PDA

View Full Version : MTB Handlebar Setups: What's Your Preference?

ColonelJLloyd
05-12-2017, 10:17 AM
The XC handlebar width thread got me thinking more about how more experienced MTB riders have their cockpits setup. I just built up my first MTB last year, but am really enjoying it. I do feel, though, that my handlebar setup could be refined.

Please share what shape and width of bar you like. I'd love to hear details about grip type and length preference, lever and dropper remote setup preference and anything else on your bar (bells, bags, bar ends, etc).

Details about your HTA, stem length and the type of terrain you ride would be great to know as well. And pics!

My bike is fully rigid with 71d HTA, 29x2.35 rear and 29x3.0 front. I started with a 70mm Thomson stem, Thomson bar (the downhill I think), ESI XL Chunky grips, XT 800 levers, Spurcycle bell and Revelate Feedbag on the left side of the stem. The bar does feel very wide and because I'm new to trail riding the super wide bars having me riding pretty cautiously when trees are around. The grips are nice at first, but my hands start to get fatigued later into rides and even though the grip is long I often feel another hand position would be nice.

d_douglas
05-12-2017, 11:11 AM
Its all about personal preference. From what you've described, the setup sounds like all nicely chosen components, so it depends on the type of riding you do.

I just recently switched from a 720 to a 760mm bar and was chastised for not going wider, but this is my personal limit. I ride in technical trails with some steep stuff and have only once or twice cringed as I whizzed past a tree, thinking about what would happen if I clipped it.

I personally think the all around sweet spot for bars is 700-720mm - anyone could deal with a bar of that width unless theyre either 6'8" or 5'0" tall.