PDA

View Full Version : Bike Shop Economics

H1449-6
08-21-2006, 01:27 PM
Another thread re: a bike store in SF potentially on the market leads to this question:

What are the economics of a medium-sized, well-run bike shop? Interested in things like

- inventory cost and annual turnover
- gross and net margins
- typical merchandising terms (manufacturer financing for inventory)
- revenue breakout by hardgoods/softgoods/service

Etc.

I have no retail management background. Point is that I may be misusing terms above. I was a salesman in a bike shop about 10-12 years ago.

I do have a frame of reference based on that experience but that was a tiny shop with three employees and a limited inventory so probably not the best example from which to reach general conclusions.

Any comments or pointers to references appreciated.

ols
08-21-2006, 03:03 PM
You have to buy the report from the Nat'l Bicycle Dealers Association, but it should give you the kind of info you outlined:

http://nbda.com/page.cfm?PageID=40

They also have a link called "want to start a bike shop?"
http://nbda.com/page.cfm?PageID=70

grosmerou
08-21-2006, 03:17 PM
I think it is just like any other business : customers frist, good job, some accounting rules and a good balance sheet, the last are usually comming by themselves as you do well.
I run a construction company and before I never been in building i was doing oil drilling. but down the road any business is hte same. customer customer, quality, delay, price (pay for what you get)

H1449-6
08-21-2006, 03:58 PM
You have to buy the report from the Nat'l Bicycle Dealers Association, but it should give you the kind of info you outlined:

http://nbda.com/page.cfm?PageID=40

They also have a link called "want to start a bike shop?"
http://nbda.com/page.cfm?PageID=70

Perfect.

Thank you.

trymorecowbell
08-21-2006, 05:04 PM
ain't gunna get rich in the bike biz - especially retail