PDA

View Full Version : OT: converting a shed to a chicken coop

Hilltopperny
05-09-2017, 06:36 AM
I went and picked up a dozen chicks yesterday. I had to knock down the old coop in the fall due to its structural instability. I have 3 decent sized sheds, one of which is where I'd like to put the chickens once ready. Any of you guys ever convert a shed to a coop? :beer:

R3awak3n
05-09-2017, 06:46 AM
no but can't wait to hear about this. We want to get some chickens soon.

CNY rider
05-09-2017, 06:48 AM
I have the plans for the coop you saw at our place, if you would like.
Doesn't help with a conversion though.

What kind of chicks did you get?

Hilltopperny
05-09-2017, 07:01 AM
It's my first time raising them so I picked up a variety of breeds to see which variety does best in my region. We now have 2 buff orpington, 2 rainbow, 2 austrolorp, 2 silver Wyandotte and 4 red rangers.

I am trying to be budget concious with the coop and since I still have some usable lumber from the old one I'd like to try and convert one of the sheds to accommodate them. Going to start with a 25'×25' fence around the coop.

Hilltopperny
05-09-2017, 07:02 AM
A pic of the chicks from yesterday.

AngryScientist
05-09-2017, 07:06 AM
just goes to show how diverse of a state NY is!

i was out last night myself, and if i came home and told my wife i picked up a dozen chicks, we would be having a very different conversation. :D

Hilltopperny
05-09-2017, 07:11 AM
just goes to show how diverse of a state NY is!

i was out last night myself, and if i came home and told my wife i picked up a dozen chicks, we would be having a very different conversation. :D

My wife and I have been discussing it at length since we bought the house. We go through a lot of eggs and some of the chickens are dual/purpose so if they aren't producing they may end up being dinner at some point:D

Nooch
05-09-2017, 07:14 AM