PDA

View Full Version : First ever criterium, any tips?

TEMPLE
04-05-2017, 04:23 PM
So, next week our local crits start, and I am going to take part! Any tips for a total beginner? There is going to be a crit clinic for the first week, which I will take, but if anyone has some thoughts about things I should do or not do, I am all ears.

I'll note that my main purpose is just to have fun and get a bit of training at the same time. I have no illusions about winning, and just about zero ego when it comes to cycling. If I can hang with the pack for the whole race, I will be really happy. Basically, I don't want to get hurt or screw up someone else's race, and I am not uncomfortable with the concept of coming in last to achieve either of these goals.

A little more background: the only other "racing" I have done is in fondos and similar events. I have done quite a lot of group riding with my local club and as far as that goes, I am very comfortable in a group on regular roads. I expect the crits to be different animals in this regard, so I am a bit nervous about that.

So, thoughts?

FlashUNC
04-05-2017, 04:26 PM
How comfortable are you with contact on the bike? Touching elbows/shoulders etc?

beeatnik
04-05-2017, 04:32 PM
Watch the corners.

vqdriver
04-05-2017, 04:39 PM
depending on the type of course and the lower cat riders out there with you, i would just recommend keeping your head up and eyes open. be as predictable as possible, brake gradually and early, pick your line and hold it. assume others will not be doing the same.

Ralph
04-05-2017, 04:41 PM
Riding in the back is a lot harder. You are like an accordion. Riding up front is hard also.

ANAO
04-05-2017, 04:43 PM
If you have good pack skills, hide in the pack. If you're fit, stay at the front. To prepare for both scenarios, take a friend to a grassy field and practice leaning on each other at low speed, then go home and do 2x20s for a few weeks.

ANAO
04-05-2017, 04:45 PM