PDA

View Full Version : Broken Collarbone, how to stave off boredom

Frikki
03-29-2017, 09:47 AM
I just dinged my right collarbone, first time breaking a bone so pretty new to this.

Any advice on how to not completely lose form and motivation during for 6-8 weeks of downtime?
Should I get a steel or titanium plate in my shoulder?
I assume i'll have to get a trainer as riding the old rollers in my state would be dicey at best.

Thanks!

Bonus: gratuitous pic

jruhlen1980
03-29-2017, 09:54 AM
I'm not a doctor but I think you should get a carbon fiber plate and fill it with Stans. :)

Sorry about your collarbone man, good luck with your recovery. Maybe walk the dogs a bunch? Or if you don't have dogs, volunteer at the shelter to walk some?

azrider
03-29-2017, 10:08 AM
Or maybe just chill out, rest and let your body recuperate.

Hindmost
03-29-2017, 10:12 AM
Trainer, one-handed.

Tony
03-29-2017, 10:24 AM
Two times with a broken collarbone. The first was bad, doctors used a sling that pulled both shoulders back over the course of healing.
Trainer, lots of squats and lunges!

Ken Robb
03-29-2017, 10:31 AM
After a BAD crash my scapula and clavicle were both shattered. The surgeon decided I needed to have both repaired with ti plates/screws to be sure things would heal correctly aligned. I now have some odd-looking bumps along my collar bone but everything works quite well.

simonov
03-29-2017, 11:01 AM
Trainer, one-handed.

This + Netflix. Not to push too hard at first, just to keep the legs moving and burn off some energy. Plenty of rest early on and some hard trainer workouts as you get closer to getting the all clear for outdoor riding and your form will be fine. Steering a bike will, however, feel a bit strange.

shovelhd
03-29-2017, 11:09 AM
I just dinged my right collarbone, first time breaking a bone so pretty new to this.

Any advice on how to not completely lose form and motivation during for 6-8 weeks of downtime?

I hear this all the time from new racers.