PDA

View Full Version : Spooky Havoc-staff cable stop problem

katematt
03-29-2017, 07:11 AM
I have a Spooky skeletor version where the cable stops are slotted into the head tube. Epoxy usually held them in but it appears that the left FD broke off a bit and will no longer hold the housing.

I found someone who can insert cable stops on the down tube using rivets. I will likely have him do both. It's either this or use the frame as a 1X.

Would the rivets hold under the pressure of shifting long term?

Any advice or other ideas would be great appreciated.

stien
03-29-2017, 07:57 AM
Other frames like the Cervelo R3 have rivets holding the stops on (two for a double stop). Just go electronic!

chiasticon
03-29-2017, 08:21 AM
always thought that was a weird design idea for Spooky. they attempted a sleek look, but pretty much everyone has had problems with it.

I think you'd be fine, but I have no direct experience with this. as mentioned, other bikes are designed to use rivets to hold cable stops.

personally, I'd be tempted to just have it drilled for electronic at that point though. or for full-length internal housing through the downtube and out the BB or bottom of downtube. or even all the way to the RD through the DS chainstay, if possible. maybe take it to a local framebuilder and see what suggestions he could make (if that's not who you've already talked to)?

ANAO
03-29-2017, 09:02 AM
1x!

R3awak3n
03-29-2017, 09:14 AM
I have a havocstaff as well. Its a great frame but people complain about 2 things with it, BB being PF30 and the cable stop problem. The PF30 is not a problem imo but the cable stops suck, what a crappy design. Sure looks good but it doesnt work well. Mine holds fine with epoxy and the key is to use epoxy right away instead of letting it not hold anymore then doing the epoxy. One of mine was getting loosy so I epoxied it and its been a few years without a single problem.