PDA

View Full Version : name this location! as seen on insta...

AngryScientist
03-08-2017, 07:20 PM
OK, so as an Engineer myself, i was excited to see this pic pop up on my instagram feed. never heard of it.

who knows where this is WITHOUT resorting to Google?

Who's been there??

I need to go!

http://spokeandwords.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/DSC03028.jpg

Louis
03-08-2017, 07:25 PM
I believe it's in Colorado. I may have been there, but need to check the map to be sure.

I checked - the one I was thinking of is a similar (but different) one closer to Gunnison and the Alpine Tunnel. I don't think I've been to Engineer Pass, even though I am one...

Maybe I've heard of it because it appears to be on the TAT

http://www.bikepacking.com/plog/trans-america-trail-tat-high-elevation/

https://billyedit.wordpress.com/2015/10/04/colorado-the-engineer-pass-tat-31/

gdw
03-08-2017, 07:37 PM
It's in Colorado in the Uncompahgre Wilderness near Lake City.

dustyrider
03-08-2017, 07:38 PM
Yup. Just down the road from me. I've poked around there in a jeep more than once. Usually end up riding on the other side. One of these days...

AngryScientist
03-08-2017, 07:40 PM
so cool.

i purposely didnt google it and knew some here would come up with it quickly.

i want to go there. just for the picture.

edit: NOT just for the picture. the landscape looks fantastic!

dustyrider
03-08-2017, 07:43 PM
so cool.

i purposely didnt google it and knew some here would come up with it quickly.

i want to go there. just for the picture.

edit: NOT just for the picture. the landscape looks fantastic!

Ouray, Colorado is where you want to be!

AngryScientist
03-08-2017, 07:44 PM
is a ride in this neck of the woods doable on a cross bike, or mtb required?

Louis
03-08-2017, 07:46 PM