PDA

View Full Version : Going from 170mm cranks to 172.5mm?

shinomaster
08-09-2006, 01:12 AM
I have been thinking of doing this for years, but haven't for several reasons. The first being that I have weak knees and I have read that longer cranks strees the knees more. Second All my bikes have 170's and it would be expensive to switch all my bikes, and I am a destitute artist. Third, I am lazy.
I am asking because cross season is quickly approaching and I think I could crank through the mud at a slow cadence better in a low gear with longer arms. I ued to ride a MTB with 175's many moons ago. Is there time to make the switch? Some like the Jerkobtuse would say no, it would seem. Would 2.5mm make any difference? Or should I just train harder?

Much Love,

Shino

Too Tall
08-09-2006, 07:43 AM
Ride you bike, keep your $$ in ze wallet and eyes on the road.

Won't make any diff.

sailorboy
08-09-2006, 10:00 AM
I have gone back and forth on this myself since most of the 'formulas' tell me that I need a 170 with my short inseam despite being 5-9, but had ridden longer cranks for many years. I have basically compromised by using 170s on one or two bikes, and 172.5 on another. I typically ride the 170s on flats or days when I will try to sit in on most of the climbing, such as early in the season when I want to spin more. As the knees get stronger during the season, or in races, I tend to ride the 172s. Some days the 170s just feel better, but when I'm standing up on shorter climbs and need to power over, I feel the 172 offer a slight advantage with more leverage. Otherwise, the difference is debatable IMO, and I have no problems switching bikes day to day.

Keith A
08-09-2006, 10:25 AM
Shino,