PDA

View Full Version : Observation about Avid BB7 Road cable operated disc brakes

NHAero
01-12-2017, 06:55 PM
I had these brake calipers on my Anderson all-rounder and they just seemed weak and mushy. Swapped them for TRP hydros and haven't looked back. I've been converting my Litespeed Unicoi to a drop bar bike, and put the BB7 Road calipers on. The bars and brake levers came off the Anderson - the levers are Tektro R200 - and I'm using the same compressionless housing - literally most of the same pieces. So the only thing that is different is (obviously) the wheels - 26ers with knobby tires - and the rotors. On the Anderson the rotors are lightweight stainless steel KCNC Razors, 160mm front and 140mm rear. The Litespeed wheels have a mis-matched set of Avid steel rotors. The Litespeed stops way better than the Anderson did with these brakes. I'm scratching my head about why. As a mechanical engineer, I was taught that frictional force is F = u x N, where u is the friction coefficient and N is the applied force. Area doesn't enter this equation. The Avid rotors are definitely heavier and have more swept area. If this is the reason the brakes work better, I'd like to understand why.
Thanks!

tuscanyswe
01-12-2017, 07:08 PM
I find rotor can make a difference. I had some bb7 a long time ago and got some fancy rotors (lightweight) and the braking was not as good but not much difference.

Can there have been contamination at play as an unknown factor? :)

NHAero
01-12-2017, 07:45 PM
I thought about contamination of the rotor. Wouldn't it carry over to the pads, and therefore be transferred to the current set-up? And why would the rotors work well with the TRPs (maybe the answer is simply more force is being applied by the hydros).

I may clean both sets of rotors with some 90% isopropropyl alcohol to see if that makes a difference.