PDA

View Full Version : rear zipp 404 hub issues

ivanooze
12-30-2016, 08:48 PM
-I have a question for all you master mechanics out there.
i've been riding a set of 2016 404s for a few months and were pretty good wheels until i had the wheel serviced.

-i had them serviced after a rain ride, and despite a tiny bit of dirt that crawled into the hub, everything seemed alright but it wasn't....

-before the servicing: 1. i was able to spin the crank and have the wheel coast without the crank arms moving with the wheel.
2. i was able to spin the cassette (not on the frame) freely without much resistance

-after the servicing: 1. when i spin the crank, the crank arms move with the wheel which in my opinion seems that there's something stuck in the hub body that's causing it to lag.
2. the cassette feels really stiff and stops almost automatically when i spin it by hand.

-what changed during the servicing we accidentally forgot to add the rubber washer that lies in between the pawls and the hub body, i didnt realize it until the mechanic told me after my 10 mile ride back home.
-i went back to install it and everything started to feel stiff. i tried flipping the rubber washer around to see if it would make a difference, but so far nothing.

-so my question is: does anyone know of this issue and how to fix it? i can provide a video to give you guys a visual of what im dealing with.

this is the only info i can find on zipp 404 hubs but it's in the firestrike model.
http://www.zipp.com/_media/pdfs/manuals/Rev_A_2015_Zipp_404_Firestrike_Service_Manual.pdf

-if anyone knows if you can get the firecrest service manual and send me the link that would be awesome.

Jgrooms
12-30-2016, 09:07 PM
Sounds like you have the bearing preload too tight?

With the wheel on the bike, back it off until the hub stops turning the crank & see what the side to side movement of the wheel looks like

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ivanooze
12-30-2016, 09:14 PM