PDA

View Full Version : OT. Grammar question...

Dr Luxurious
12-15-2016, 08:53 AM
Any English majors out there?
Trying to help one of the kids with homework... :help:

What's the verb tense in "Could you leave the door open?"

Nooch
12-15-2016, 09:02 AM
I'm not an expert.. And quite possibly wrong. But when I read that, it sounds like future tense -- even though the future might be immediately in the future.

eddief
12-15-2016, 09:08 AM
You could leave the door open. = future?

I'm not an expert.. And quite possibly wrong. But when I read that, it sounds like future tense -- even though the future might be immediately in the future.

weisan
12-15-2016, 09:08 AM
http://forums.thepaceline.net/showpost.php?p=2088173&postcount=10

MattTuck
12-15-2016, 09:14 AM
http://forums.thepaceline.net/showpost.php?p=2088173&postcount=10

Don't try to rope me into this! ;):D

English was my worst subject. In fact, I was advised to attend remedial english during the summer before college!!

objects, subjects, predicates, verb tenses... yikes! Just never got it.

seanile
12-15-2016, 09:20 AM
left = past
leaving = present
leave = future

i can't think of an instance in which "to leave" isn't part of a command for an action to be taken.

disclaimer: not an english major, but i write contracts so this stuff matters to me for work

christian
12-15-2016, 09:28 AM
Off the top of my head I think it's interrogative form of present continuous tense. I think the "could" is just a head fake to make you think it's conditional, but there is no precedent phrase, so I think that's wrong.

If the sentence were "Will you leave the door open?" then I think it's pretty clearly present continuous. The request is in the present, but the event continues into the near future. "Leave" is a clear indication that it's continuous.

Present continuous. Final answer.