PDA

View Full Version : Way OT: Outlook for programmers

smontanaro
12-09-2016, 09:35 AM
Having nothing to do with bikes, I recently switched jobs, and for the first time in my career, I'm stuck using Microsoft Outlook for reading mail. It's driving me nuts. As a software developer, I find it sucks in a number of ways (there are more general problems which have nothing to do with my role as a software engineer - I will ignore them for now):

It insists on using proportional fonts unless I explicitly compose mails as plain text
It doesn't respect my start and end when selecting text
It keeps wanting to translate my apostrophes and quotation marks

The last two items are particularly annoying. Trying to "father knows best" me on selecting text is unbelievably frustrating, especially as when trying to select a bit of program text it insists on expanding the selection to include most nearby punctuation (which, in a programming language context is rarely "just punctuation"). Auto-translation of quotes means that little snippets of code in a message can't be copy/pasted by the recipient without further editing. I followed the instructions (https://support.office.com/en-us/article/Change-curly-quotes-to-straight-quotes-and-vice-versa-017963a0-bc5f-486b-9c9d-0ec511a8fb8f) about how to get it to stop doing that, but it keeps doing it.

So, if you are a software developer (or play one on TV) and are stuck using Outlook to send and receive email, what have you done to make your email life slightly less miserable?

jtbadge
12-09-2016, 09:44 AM
I am in the same boat. I have been lucky enough to have Gmail/Google Docs at work until my current employer. Would also be interested in tips.

Bob Ross
12-09-2016, 10:37 AM
fwiw, I've been using Outlook at work and at home for over 14 years, and I find gmail infuriatingly obtuse!

But I'm not a programmer, I'm a luddite, so...

retrofit
12-09-2016, 11:01 AM