PDA

View Full Version : Tips for adjusting Campy Deltas?

KJMUNC
12-03-2016, 06:06 PM
Pouring here all day so I recabled my Lemond....forgot how big of a pain in the ass Delta brakes are :crap:

So here's my issue: no matter how tight I torque down the bolt that holds the cable, it still slips if I grab a fistful of brake. I basically started with the pads tight against the rim and then squeezed the brake to stretch the cable, but the bolt keeps slipping the cable further than I want it, which opens the calipers farther then I'd like.

Any tips/tricks to setting them up and getting your pads close to the rim?

johnmdesigner
12-03-2016, 06:29 PM
I'm no expert but this is how I set mine up:
I used some styrene material and cut two shims to place between the rim and the brake pad. Then I clamped all of it to the rim.
Pulled the cable down with pliers as hard as I could and then tightened the screw.
Pull out the shims.

I'm not quite sure if I understand your situation but I've never really grabbed them so tightly as to pull the cable out from the set screw. Perhaps there is a lot of lubricant on the cable there?
There are some videos on youtube but seems pretty straight forward.
Screw the cable adjuster all the way down before you cut?

thirdgenbird
12-03-2016, 07:05 PM
I used cable ties to hold the calipers where I wanted them at rest, pulled the cable snug with pliers, and tightened down the cable. No slip that I remember.

Wakatel_Luum
12-03-2016, 07:50 PM
I don't know about the cable slipping but I use my hand to hold the caliper arms down, then tighten...I then use the barrel adjuster to finish off...

Trick I learned was to get deltas to work well allow the arms to do their full throw, don't position pads too close to the rim...

19wisconsin64
12-03-2016, 08:28 PM
I recall switching the brake cables to Suntour Superbe Pro braided cable. These were easier to clamp. Also recall switching to the five pivot design vs. the original three pivot, this helped too.