PDA

View Full Version : Are smart trainers worth it?

mcfarton
11-29-2016, 07:35 PM
I am overwhelmed with the amount of smart trainers available now. I currently have a nice cycle ops fluid trainer. I have no problem getting on the trainer a few times a week and doing intervals. But all of my friends have been jumping on zwift and I feel left out. I also see a bunch of other apps that look interesting.

So anyone who has taken the plunge into the smart trainer market, was it worth it? Do you look forward to the trainer? Or is it a case of I still don't like indoor training but its not as bad now.

Also, what else have you bought to complete the setup? IE computers, dongles, tv, ect?

Sent from my SM-G920P using Tapatalk

shovelhd
11-29-2016, 07:37 PM
There's quite a few of these threads around here somewhere.

efaust_o
11-29-2016, 07:51 PM
Post #338 seems to be a fairly strong endorsement. I've never done SWIFT before, but I have slept at a HI... :)

http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=192238&page=23

mcfarton
11-29-2016, 08:02 PM
I have no doubt that a kicker is one of the nicest trainers available, but that isn't doable for me. I am looking more at the 500ish smart trainers.
I am actually more interested in the cycleops app than zwift.
Thanks for the link i will read about zwift.

AngryScientist
11-29-2016, 08:04 PM
tacx vortex smart is $320 from the german website i linked in my zwift thread. best value for a smart trainer available.

54ny77
11-29-2016, 08:14 PM
personally, i would rather stick a hot fork in my left eye, twist it around a few times, and thereafter be forced to read a di2 installation manual in mandarin (twice) than ride an indoor "smart" trainer. or any trainer for that matter.

but yeah, the computrainer i have is not as immensely heinous as the plain cyclops fluid unit that i also have.

merckx
11-29-2016, 08:15 PM