PDA

View Full Version : Sram Automatix on a Track Frame?


Ti_on_Steel
11-13-2016, 06:39 PM
I'm thinking about installing a Sram Automatix 2 speed auto shifting coaster brake hub in my Bianchi Pista. I'm just too old to ride fixed gear, but having the two speed automatic shifting with the coaster would be fun. Anyone done this?

I can't seem to find a spec anywhere for what the hub spacing on the Automatix is. The Pista also doesn't have the coaster brake tabs, but I think you can get a clamp for the chain stay?

Any advice?

Cameron
11-13-2016, 07:34 PM
No reason why you couldn't do it that I can think of. I believe they are 120 and can be spaced with washers to run them on 130.

Clamp the brake arm on the chain stay and you should be ready to go.

cachagua
11-14-2016, 02:12 AM
Read all the reviews you can, some folks have reported that the SRAM doesn't shift when they want it to (or does when they don't). Read up on the options and see if you'd prefer a Sturmey-Archer S2C or even an S3X.

false_Aest
11-14-2016, 09:42 AM
Go test ride a Linus Avanti.

They're specced on em.

Jeff Borisch
11-14-2016, 09:55 AM
I had one. They are kind of cool but I would not recommend unless you ride on smooth roads all the time.

On bumpy roads they will shift into high gear when the weights inside the hub are jostled. This is even after I bent the springs to be stronger to raise the autoshift speed. (process documented on the web)

Ridiculously heavy too.