PDA

View Full Version : Help me not screw up my cyclocross/travel-bike build

bitt3n
10-23-2016, 11:36 PM
I just bought a used travel bike to make my biking in the French/Italian Alps, Pyrenees less complicated. (I am based in Cambridge, MA, and it's a bit of a hassle flying around with regular bikes.) The frame I bought is a used Seven Airheart, which is Seven's Evergreen cyclocross frame built with S&S couplers.

My goal is to build it up into something that will be decent both for road biking and racing cyclocross. I have little experience building up bikes (or actually riding road/cross bikes at all, since I mostly ride mountain when not on vacation) and I'm hoping to get some general advice so I don't do anything too dumb.

The frame looks like this:

http://i.imgur.com/JymzRd2.jpg

Group

I've already purchased a used Ultegra Di2 group with hydraulic brakes. (The rear brake line is externally mounted so I figure I can just take it off when breaking down the bike for travel rather than using a cable splitter on a mechanical brake line.) The etubes that will be arriving with the group I purchased (a takeoff from another frame about 1 cm larger than this one) are of lengths 950mm x 1, 750mm x 2, 500mm x 1, 350mm x 2. The specs of my frame are:

http://i.imgur.com/uN32f3X.jpg

From what I understand, these wires will fit, and the 950 mm will be for the downtube, one 350 mm is for the seatpost battery, the other is for the front derailleur, one 750 mm is for the rear derailleur, and the other 750 mm is for...? I'm wondering if there's anything I'm not considering. (I did realize that I have to buy a FD clamp, since my frame has no braze-on.)

Rims

As for wheels, given the specs call for a 35-40mm tire, I was thinking I'd build a pair of wheels on a set of used Enve 29er XC rims, which I can run tubeless, and seem to go for $300-$350 used. I'm not sure what spoke counts to get front and rear. I was thinking either 28 or 32, without any real facts to back this up.