PDA

View Full Version : Trying out flat pedals and shoes?

d_douglas
10-18-2016, 12:50 PM
I am a long time clipless pedal user. Shortly after I started riding, I bought my first set of SPDs because it was what the cool kids had and I have never changed. I use Shimano road and mountain pedals after years of using Times (which I actually prefer, but that is another story)

I have recently gotten back into MTBing and am curious about trying flat pedals and shoes. I rode with a friend just getting into offroading this past weekend and he used jogging shoes and cheap pedals on his new FS bike and he didn't seem to have a problem getting around on the trails. I personally find it hard to fathom how to get OVER things without pulling up using clipless setups, but 50%+ of offroaders where I live use flats, so they are definitely favoured.

The last few times I have been out, I have thought I should grab my wife's commuter pedals (Crank Brothers DH) and try it out, and I would just use jogging shoes. Now, however, I realize that the magical combination of spiky flats and sticky rubber is what makes things work.

Who here uses flats and 5-10s (or similar) to ride technical trails? Is it fun or annoying? With the right sticky combination, do you have control like you do with SPDs? Is it worth the investment of $200 in shoes/pedals?

Dead Man
10-18-2016, 01:06 PM
Why, tho?

I personally find nothing lacking with clipless.. and seems like you'd just shred your shins on the studded pedals all the time. Ack.. no thanks

d_douglas
10-18-2016, 01:20 PM
Yes, true, but I am curious as to the attraction. While people who've used clipless pedals for a long time feel that disengaging from the pedals is an 'automatic' movement, it isn't. If we ride ourselves of that, it might be more fun, allowing the rider to move around on the pedals and adapt more to the terrain.