PDA

View Full Version : OT: Career Shift - Engineering

matthewhelmuth
10-17-2016, 12:47 AM
Hi all,

I've been a forum watcher for a long while and have occasionally posted over in the gallery section when I feel my bike is looking particularly pretty. I'm in my mid twenties, into cycling, have a young family, and wonder how on earth you all pay for this very expensive hobby. That and other (much more important) reasons are driving me to consider getting out of my current line of work and into a more lucrative one.

I'm a graduate of a small Midwestern liberal arts institution, and I hold a degree in religious studies. I'm currently working at a small third party undergraduate program and am at a point of transition.

I've got significant aptitude in mathematics and a strong interest in mechanical and electrical processes. I have a number of friends who are at various stages in their engineering careers and have heard from them that it's possible to get into the field without holding a degree in engineering.

I'm curious to know whether any of you are electrical or mechanical engineers (or drafters)? If so, do you mind telling me a bit about your experience of that industry? What do you think of the prospects for someone coming into the field as a self-taught drafter (perhaps with a bit of mentoring input from friends and acquaintances)? I'm thinking of taking the next nine months, buying a computer and either Solidworks or Altium, and immersing myself in one of those systems. Am I off my rocker?

Matthew

estilley
10-17-2016, 01:01 AM
I'm mid 20's and a liberal arts graduate and just started my ME post-bac program. Worked retail analytics for a few years and wanted a change. Didn't do it for the money, probably would have made more in the old job track. Ended up working in an auto-shop setting while figuring out the next steps and found ME. The days are long with work, school, and riding, but it's a good life!

Best of luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk