PDA

View Full Version : Educate me on mountain bikes

Tickdoc
10-07-2016, 09:55 AM
Bought my son one two years ago, a spec. Aluminum low/mid grade hardtail model with xt? Components.

I have ridden his around the neighborhood but it just never took hold. It seems heavy and slow and cushy, and I just figured I'm always gonna be a road bike guy.

Well, now I'm thinking that if I had one, we could at least ride together. Great MTb trails are just a short ride away, and we have land that is fun to ride on.

So, if I try to pick one up used, what do I look for? I'm a total newbie here and have no clue what is decent. How much for say, a hardtail like his, but not off the showroom floor? ( I think his was about $600.00)

I'd be fine with a worn but not broken, used but not trashed example.

Are they harder to flip if I don't like it?

Do I have to get mtb specific shoes?

benb
10-07-2016, 10:01 AM
You could just get flat pedals and wear sneakers. Road pedals and shoes are pretty much a disaster in the woods, especially if you're not an experienced mountain biker. They gum up with mud/dirt very easily even in dry conditions and you have a good chance of falling trying to walk the bike since road shoes have no traction.

Mountain bikes are sensitive to a lot of things in terms of fit and setup (suspension settings, brake setup, etc..) and you definitely get what you pay for, there's probably lots of stuff used that would make you happy but it's hard to say what. They're always going to feel slower than a road bike until you are on terrain where you actually need a mountain bike, but with careful setup they usually don't feel terribly slow and you should get used to the feeling pretty quickly and then won't notice the extra weight, etc..